September 19, 2020

Trump becomes third impeached president after historic vote

The House passed both articles of impeachment presented for today’s vote, making Trump the third president to be impeached in the nation’s history.

After hours of debate in the nation’s capitol and many hours of testimony in previous weeks, members of the House of Representatives voted on two articles of impeachment: abuse of power and obstruction of Congress.

For abuse of power, 230 representatives voted yea and 197 voted nay. For obstruction of Congress, 229 representatives voted yea and 198 voted nay.

For both votes, Democratic Representative Tulsi Gabbard voted “present,” but did not vote yea or nay.

“I am standing at the center and have decided to vote Present,” Gabbard, a 2020 Democratic candidate, said Wednesday night in a statement.

Before the vote, The Chimes posted a poll on twitter to see where students stand on impeachment. With 58 votes, 76 percent of respondents agreed with impeachment while 24 percent were against.

After today’s historic vote, things will move to the Senate where Republicans are the majority. For Trump to be removed from office, two-thirds of the Senate must vote to remove.

If you have thoughts on the impeachment proceedings, we want to hear them. Send an email to

  • Heather Barr is the current Editor-In-Chief of The Chimes and a senior at Capital University, studying Journalism and Professional Writing.

Leave a Reply